New team of patrons for Early Education

Be the first to comment

Early years charity Early Education has appointed nine vice-presidents to join incoming president Professor Tony Bertram.


Professor Tony Bertram becomes president of Early Education

Professor Bertram, Director of the Centre for Research in Early Childhood, takes over as president of the organisation from Helen Moylett in January. She then becomes a vice-president.

The other vice-presidents are:

  • Professor Robin Alexander
  • Naomi Eisenstadt CB
  • Dr Peter Elfer
  • Emeritus Professor Philip Gamage
  • Laura Henry
  • Professor Cathy Nutbrown
  • Dr Margy Whalley
  • Professor Elizabeth Wood

Early Education vice-presidents are honorary patrons who commit to supporting the organisation and its belief that every child has as a right to an education of the highest quality in the early years.

Early Education Chief Executive, Beatrice Merrick said, 'From its earliest days, Early Education has been extraordinarily fortunate in the support it has had from leading figures in the sector who give generously of their time to advise and support our work.  We are grateful for their recognition of the importance of what we do: both in supporting early years practitioners and teachers in all stages of their careers, and campaigning for the right of every child to the highest quality early childhood education.  At this crucial time in the run up to the next election, we know our vice-presidents will speak out for the best interests of young children, and we call on all parties to heed their expert advice.'

blog comments powered by Disqus