Roald Dahl Funny Prize winners named

Be the first to comment

Cats Ahoy by Peter Bently is the winner of the Roald Dahl Funny Prize 2011 for books for children aged six and under.


The Booktrust prize, which is in its fourth year, celebrates the funniest books for children aged six and under, and seven to 14-year-olds.

Cats Ahoy, written by Peter Bently and illustrated by Jim Field, was chosen by judges including former children’s laureate and founder of the prize Michael Rosen, as the funniest book for children aged six and under. The Brilliant World of Tom Gates by Liz Pochon won the seven- to-14 category.

The winners received their award and a cheque of £2,500 at a ceremony held at the Unicorn Theatre in London today (Tuesday).

Commenting on the winning book for the six and under category, Michael Rosen said, ‘Cats marauding as ghost pirates to steal fishy bounty from lily-livered humans: what more do you want from a funny book? Jim Field’s illustrations of the cunning pirate cats and Peter Bently’s majestic rhyming words had the judges in fits of giggles.’

The other books which made the shortlist for the Funniest Book for Children Aged Six and under were:


  • Bedtime for Monsters by Ed Vere
  • First Week at Cow School by Andy Cutbill, illustrated by Russell Avto
  • Limelight Larry by Leigh Hodgkinson
  • Marshall Armstrong is New to our School by David Mackintosh
  • A Place to Call Home by Alexis Deacon, illustrated by Viviane Schwarz
blog comments powered by Disqus